Skip to content
Stanford University School of Medicine

For third year in row, a Stanford faculty member wins the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Stanford chemistry professor W.E. Moerner, PhD, has been named a co-winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. An announcement was made earlier this morning by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, which said the award was for "having bypassed a presumed scientific limitation stipulating that an optical microscope can never yield a resolution better than 0.2 micrometers."

This is the third year in a row that a Stanford faculty member has received the chemistry award: Michael Levitt, PhD, and Brian Kobilka, MD, both from the medical school, won the prize in 2013 and 2012, respectively.

You can get updates on this news by following the hashtag #StanfordNobel.

Congratulations, Professor Moerner!

Previously: Say Cheese: A photo shoot with Stanford Medicine’s seven Nobel laureates, Stanford winners Michael Levitt and Thomas Südhof celebrate Nobel Week, Stanford’s Michael Levitt wins 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, Stanford’s Thomas Südhof wins 2013 Nobel Prize in Medicine and Stanford’s Brian Kobilka wins 2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Photo L.A. Cicero/Stanford News Service

Popular posts